The Gang’s All Here (For the Most Part)

by Mr. Universe


Hey all, 


I was rummaging through the comment section for the last post and it was good to see a lot of familiar faces (or rather names). I undertook this blog at an inconvenient time in my life combined with a lack of experience and I wasn’t even sure if there was any interest in pursuing it. But let me just say…

I missed you all. Even Bart (I know, shocking).

I haven’t finished designing the site and I don’t know if the original people I asked to be contributors are still on board or not but I would like to continue this forum for anyone who wants to bang the political drum. Who knows, maybe we’ll garner some national coverage.

I disabled moderation so you can express any opinion you may have. Cuss words included. I request that you be nice. Please treat hostile posts as you would a belligerent relative; firm but respectful. I can and will ban assholes who are abusive but the overwhelming consensus is to let them make fools of themselves. I believe in protecting the first amendment but I will not tolerate hatred, misogyny, or threats. So troll filters at maximum.

Good to see you all. Let the forum begin.


About Mr. Universe

Mr. Universe is a musician/songwriter and an ex-patriot of the south. He currently lives and teaches at a University in the Pacific Northwest. He is a long distance hiker who has hiked the Appalachian Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail. He is also an author and woodworker. An outspoken political voice, he takes a decidedly liberal stance in politics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Gang’s All Here (For the Most Part)

  1. WA7th says:

    Thanks SO much for doing this. You have no idea….

  2. filistro says:

    Should I post the URL at the NYT site again? Would they allow it? Should I wait for a discreet interval before trying again?I just know there are lots of people yearning for a reunion with the old gang who have no idea how to find us, and I feel really sorry for them. But I’m SO intimdated by the NYT moderator. Man, that dude is COLD, isn’t he?I wonder if an open, straightforward approach might be best…. “We’ve started a comanpion chat site where readers can post flames, arguments, complaints and off-topic thoughts about Nate’s blog. Here is the address… “Or should we continue to do it like shiloh and I did yesterday, just casually sneaking the URL in with an on-topic post?All advice gratefully appreciated. I have such a pathetic fear of authority figures. I think it’s a Canadian thing.

  3. gramma says:

    yes, even us lurkers have found our way back.

  4. Jean says:

    fili, I liked how your NYT comment mentioned it as a “fan site”. Maybe that helped get it past the gatekeepers. Otherwise, perhaps a very long on-topic comment, ending with a simple “by the way” mention might work. I suspect if it’s busy, the gestapo may read just the general gist of the comment to make sure it’s on topic, but not read the entire comment.

  5. Mr. Universe says:

    Oh, like I know what I’m doing. I’m learning this as we go myself. But I like your suggestions about promotion. I’m digging the sneaky approach.I don’t know much about the NYT site. I just read the posts.Are you reading your e-mail? I’ve been trying to contact you for awhile.

  6. shiloh says:

    I’m not often accused of being casually sneaky lolActually, if I was trying to be sneaky, would have put the link at the bottom of my post, instead of the top.>The new site was advertised enough at Nate’s old blog imo ~ how many emails did Mr. U receive? He should know if all the regulars were included ~ If you Google 538 Refugee or 538Refugee you get the link at the top of the page.I’m still kinda pissed Nate zapped the comment section after he (promised) to leave his old blog 100% intact.>Mr. U, your last reply to me at the old site and it may have been the last post at Nate’s blog … ’cause posting was disabled šŸ˜¦ soon after.Shiloh, surely you can’t be serious!My reply would have been:Looks like I picked the wrong week …>Re: when you would have the new site up and running.Mr. U, we’ll give you another 20 minutes, but that’s it!Oh hell, take 30 …Roger, over!

  7. Mr Universe says:

    What’s our vector, Victor?Really? I had the last word at the old 538?Well, let me just say…LAST!

Leave a Reply

