Housekeeping!

Hi all. We’re thinking about going with some other ISP and using WordPress. Again, if you have any thoughts about the site, feel free to ramble. We have started Free Forum Fridays at Filistro’s behest and I think it should be a fun addition. We’re looking at ways to drive traffic to the site as well. Any thoughts or criticisms are welcome.

Because the signal is everywhere. And I go everywhere.

About Mr. Universe

Mr. Universe is a musician/songwriter and an ex-patriot of the south. He currently lives and teaches at a University in the Pacific Northwest. He is a long distance hiker who has hiked the Appalachian Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail. He is also an author and woodworker. An outspoken political voice, he takes a decidedly liberal stance in politics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Housekeeping!

  1. shiloh says:

    Because the signal is everywhere. And I go everywhere.~~~~~~~~~~Well, you are Mr. Universe! :)btw, I’ve been to Osceola Mills, PA …

  2. Realist says:

    Well, I’ve never been to Spain, but I kinda like the music…

  3. shrinkers says:

    I like white print on black back. But then, everyone knows already I’m weird.

  4. dr_funguy says:

    Keep me posted and I’ll post occaisionally. But if you move again, you’ll likely lose some audience.just saying.not necessarily a bad thing.Also does that voting tools actually do anything? If you’re gonna keep it there should be a count of how many bothered to vote.

  5. mclever says:

    I won’t quibble about formatting or fonts, because content is more important to me. You’ve already got most of my suggestions via email, and they mostly fall under the “make it even better” category, because I’m pretty happy with the content and presentation thus far.Some suggestions to make navigation easier:- Can we get numbered comments? Helpful for reference.- Can we get a link at the bottom of the page to take us to the next available blog post once it’s up? Makes it easier to know if something new has been posted rather than remembering to jump up to the top occasionally.I said I wouldn’t quibble about formatting, but I know some folks find it distracting when the whole thread goes BOLD for a couple of posts. Personally, it amuses me. Some of the more savvy commentators know how to close orphaned tags, so it’s not that big of a deal. If you have a way to force a close of the standard HTML formatting tags when someone posts, that’s great. If not, then those of us who are savvy will have to remember to “fix” things occasionally.

  6. Genghis says:

    Hey there, Mr. Universe. If you’re thinking about moving, I’d like to invite you to join us at dagblog.com. We’ve just brought in a load of refugees from Talking Points Memo after they shut down the reader blogs there, and I think that your crew would mix it up well with our crew. It would be like the Brady Bunch…sort of.I can offer you free IT and a built-in audience. We average 1000-1500 visitors a day, and we’re indexed by google news, so topical posts occasionally go viral and get thousands of hits. I may even me able to import your old posts depending on the technology that you’re using here.If you want to try it out, register at dagblog and cross-post something there. You can also reach me http://dagblog.com/contact.–Genghis

  7. dr_funguy says:

    the refresh on the site sucksis there some way to improve this?half or more of the time when I try to refresh I get an annoying message based on a failed attempt to comment…

  8. filistro says:

    Doc… through trial and error I’ve found it works best to go to the top and hit the “back to main page” button. Then you don’t get the annoying message.

Leave a Reply

