Twoofer Tuesdays

Well, we don’t have to talk as much about politics (but I’m sure that won’t stop us). So I have a Tuesday Forum topic that’s relevant.

What do you think about Daylight Savings? Keep it? Chuck it? Change it?
Have at it. And every time someone in the comment section says ‘Daylight Savings’, Drink!
Mr. Universe

About Mr. Universe

Mr. Universe is a musician/songwriter and an ex-patriot of the south. He currently lives and teaches at a University in the Pacific Northwest. He is a long distance hiker who has hiked the Appalachian Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail. He is also an author and woodworker. An outspoken political voice, he takes a decidedly liberal stance in politics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Twoofer Tuesdays

  1. Realist says:

    Daylight Savings Time (drink) is yet another case of those leftist hippies dictating to us how to live our lives. Who are they to tell us how to set our clocks?I’ll set my clock any damn way I wish. And if my boss tries to fire me for being late to work, I’ll sue him for tyranny.

  2. filistro says:

    I don’t want to talk about Daylight Saving Time (drink).Instead I want to know, if you all could have anything you wanted in a political blog, what features would you choose?Not white on black.. right? Definitely not a rebellious moderation screen with a mind of its own.Perhaps an integral clock that adjusts automatically for Daylight Saving Time? (drink)

  3. filistro says:

    @Realist: Daylight Savings Time (drink) is yet another case of those leftist hippies dictating to us how to live our livesIsn’t that odd? I’ve always visualized Realist as the archetypical leftist hippie 😉

  4. Mainer says:

    Sorry boys and girls Daylight Savings time (drink) was more of a concervative Republican sort of thing to make things better for farmers. Having been on the wrong side of it as a kid all I saw was a way to get more labor out of me hmmmmmm now that I think about it must have been a Republican thing.It is certainly time for it to go as it wastes so damned much energy and where I live one gets the feeling of never being hom in the light.

  5. shortchain says:

    DST is an anachronism from the time when it was difficult to get the word out about changing schedules.As it stands today, it’s far more trouble than it’s worth. We could, with a tiny fraction of the money spent, simply change the schedules of the people affected by whether the Sun is up or going down.Repeal and replace DST!

  6. Realist says:

    I heard a majority of those polled believe that the sun rises later in the summer than it does in the winter. That, of course, makes it true.

  7. filistro says:

    A very conservative lady in my city (sort of a female Bartgrog… ehttp://www...) called the radio station this spring in full rant mode.”This damngubmint is out to ruin our lives!” she said. “We’re in a drought, the lawns are all brown by June, everybody’s crops burn up, and what does the damngubmint go and do? They give us an extra hour of sunlight!

  8. GROG says:

    That really hurt, fili.Working in the construction industry, we start work when the sun rises. If it weren’t for DST, we wouldn’t be starting work until close to 9AM in the winter. I guess we could start later and finish later, but then our work schedule wouldn’t jive with the rest of the working world.

  9. shiloh says:

    grog, I worked a 3rd shift manufacturing job for (10) years, 10pm to 6am. It was great, no traffic comin’ or going 🙂 except many times we were required to work an extra (2) hours or volunteer for a (12) hour shift, plus working Saturday about half of the year.It is interesting as Veterans Day approaches, to hear grog (((whine))) about daylight. On a ship in the navy it’s port and starboard ~ 12 on, 12 off. Of course when your on a ship at sea one can’t go anywhere, so no biggie what the work hours are, eh.>And good thing grog is ignoring me, so this will be a one-sided conversation. B)Charles made the same mistake of ignoring several peeps at the old site as then they could say whatever they wanted about him w/impunity lol.Anchors Aweigh grog …

  10. GROG says:

    @shiloh,Why would I engage in conversation with you when you do things like accuse me of whining about daylight in my above post?

  11. GROG says:

    Instead of engaging in constant 24/7 et al er (((mindless))) insults er etc I prefer to just not respond et al.

  12. shiloh says:

    Oh the irony lolLet the record show grog ignored me by replying to me not once, but twice …

  13. filistro says:

    Hey, GROG just did an excellent shiloh impression! Awesome!It’s so rare when wingers exhibit anything resembling a sense of fun, it always catches me off guard. Totally disarming.(Though to be fair, I do recall Jeff teasing me once about getting violent with my Barbie doll…)

  14. shiloh says:

    Republican Study Committee Recommends Cutting Welfare Program That Already ExpiredThe Republican Study Committee on Monday recommended reducing the deficit by cutting a welfare program that lards the federal budget with $2.5 billion in wasteful spending every year.The Committee, led by Rep. Tom Price (Ga.), called for cutting the $2.5 billion Emergency Fund created by the stimulus bill to help states subsidize jobs via the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, formerly known as welfare. Price has targeted the program as part of House Republicans’ “YouCut” initiative to reduce federal spending.”The goal of welfare programs should be to help people get back on their feet as quickly as possible rather than simply expanding dependence on government,” Price said in a statement. “In addition to saving taxpayers $25 billion over the next 10 years, cutting the emergency fund from the President’s failed stimulus package will refocus temporary assistance on its rightful role.”>>>Problem is, the TANF Emergency Fund has already expired, along with the 240,000 jobs progressive economists say it created.~~~~~Oops !!! 😀Ain’t governing a bitch! as the frickin’ clowns haven’t even taken control of the House yet. lolapologies to clowns!

  15. filistro says:

    Ain’t governing a bitch!To quote the newly reinstated Keith Olbermann..”It’s been 7 days since the GOP took over the House. John Boehner… WHERE ARE THE JOBS?”:-)

  16. shiloh says:

    Fili, as long grog is payin’ attention to everything I say. :)solo estoy diciendogrog has had a couple of bad days as his ad nauseam, nonsensical posts have been easily (((pommeled)) by all concerned, not just me. B)

  17. GROG says:

    @shiloh,I actually like you. And thank you for your service you our country.

  18. GROG says:

    That should have been…thank you for your service to our country. (Where is that preview button?)

  19. GROG says:

    And while I’m not ignoring you, do you or Mr. Universe get your news anywhere other than Huffington Post?

  20. shiloh says:

    ok Grog, since I actually think you’re being sincere, you’re welcome :)and yes, I am sarcastic 😛 but I don’t hold a grudge, life’s too short!This is the internet, no biggie …Kumbaya :Dtake care

  21. shiloh says:

    Since you asked, I get my news from HP, Kos, Google news. During 2008 checked RCP and Politico daily even though I knew they were totally conservative sites.Politics is obviously not a life or death proposition for me as it is w/Bartles. ;)Again, I enjoy the yin and yang …Gave up on fixednoise ie Billo about (2) years ago when they were constantly whining about Obama.Keith/Rachel and myself share the same sarcasm, so it’s a good fit. :)>None of this is a secret as I have mentioned all of the above previously.

  22. Jean says:

    All,Not being a morning person I LOVE the the change off DST in the fall. Last Sunday I felt like I had much more than one hour of extra time. And I used it well!However, in the spring, the change onto DST is a difficult adjustment. It takes me until about mid-summer to adjust.

  23. Mr. Universe says:

    @GROGI’m usually pressed for time so I skim through HuffPo. If I have more time I visit other sites. MSNBC, for example.

  24. Mr. Universe says:

    I just hate that it gets dark at 4:30 in Oregon. I find it interesting that time is such an arbitrary construct.Jadzia Dax to the Temporal Investigations Agents: “I guess you fellas are always on time”.

  25. Jean says:

    An interesting perspective on Daylight Savings Time:http://www.independent.org/blog/index.php?p=8403

  26. Realist says:

    Random tidbit…standardizing time at all wasn’t necessary until the railroads. Prior to that, people set their clocks mostly by using the highest sun point as noon, and going from there.Railroad companies came up with time zones and time standardization so that people would know when to catch the train.

  27. shiloh says:

    Congrats to Jonathan Duhamel from Quebec, the 2010 WSOP Main Event Champion. Although he was the chip leader going into the final table, at one pt. he was the low stack.Oh Canada!Our home and native land!Oh yea, he’s (23) and won $8,944,310 ~ life’s good! :)Let’s shuffle up and deal …

  28. Mainer says:

    Man can you imagine how good he will be when he gets a little experience? I noticed that there were what seemed like an awful lot of younger players this time around. Makes one wonder if we are not seeing a changing of the guard. My son says much the same is happening in pool too. Now if we could just get all the damned dinasours out of congress maybe there would be a brighter future. Then again the ones we are getting don’t seem to be of the caliber of Duhamel in their respective field. Just don’t let him play our congress critters or we might all be learning a new national anthem.

Leave a Reply

