Happy Thanksgiving

Today is the day we give thanks for what we have. Here’s my list:

  • I’m thankful that I have a venue to not only vent my views, but to learn from the views of others, and to have my beliefs challenged.
  • I’m thankful that I have a really good income, when right now so many do not.
  • I’m thankful that I enjoy cooking, and can share the fruits of my labor with friends and family.
  • I’m thankful that I don’t live in Korea, where I would be worried about war coming to my home.
  • I’m thankful that I’m not flying anywhere this week, so I don’t have to deal with the TSA.
  • I’m thankful I’m not snowed in.
  • Most of all, I’m thankful that I have friends and family, online and offline, to make life worth living.

So whether you prefer to eat the right wing or the left wing (I prefer the breast myself), Happy Thanksgiving.


About Michael Weiss

Michael is now located at http://www.logarchism.com, along with Monotreme, filistro, and dcpetterson. Please make note of the new location.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. mclever says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    – I’m thankful for many of the same things as Michael (this forum, good job, no snow, friends and family).
    – I’m thankful for my spouse who loves and supports me no matter what.
    – I’m thankful that others love to cook, so all I have to do is show up and enjoy a wonderful meal. (I’ll bring some sweets for dessert.)
    – I’m thankful to live in a country where diverse opinions can be voiced and challenged to the edification of all.

    Wishing everyone here a happy and warm holiday!

  2. robert verdi says:

    I might be right wing but I prefer the drumstick.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Bart DePalma says:

    I’m thankful to be a citizen of this paradise of a country. Americans really do not know how blessed they are.

  4. filistro says:

    Americans really do not know how blessed they are.

    Amen, Bart. (You’re so likable when you say things like that.)

    Though I gotta say, I’m kind of thankful to be in a country that sensibly got this all out of the way almost two months ago. It just makes NO SENSE to have two enormous family get-togethers and turkey dinners a scant month apart. So much nicer to have Thanksgiving in early October when the leaves are just beginning to fall and the autumn days are crisp and sunny.

    The worst thing about the timing of American Thanksgiving… folks strap on the feedbag and then think… “Oh, what the hell… Christmas parties are starting next week, I’ll think about the diet in January.” And .. BANG!… everybody gains ten pounds.

    On the bright side, the holiday shopping season gets an early start. I predict black Friday will be REALLY black this year.

    As Bart says, we all have so much to be thankful for. I have a special, much-loved child in my life who has cerebral palsy. Thanks to wonderful American ingenuity he now has an augmentive communication device, and this week… for the first time since his birth ten years ago… he is able to tell us what he’s thinking. It’s utterly miraculous, and we’re all so grateful.

    Happy Thanksgiving, all 🙂

  5. Monotreme says:

    I am thankful that I was born in such a great country, at such a great time.

    I am thankful for my friends, both the real ones I see on a day-to-day basis, and my internet friends who I “see” daily.

    I am thankful for this forum, for the free exchange of ideas.

    I am thankful for those who disagree with me, because I am not always right. Mostly, but not always. 🙂

    It’s awfully cold today in this mostly-square state. As is my annual wont, I participated in a Cold Turkey Run that really lived up to its name: 9°F (-13°C) at the start. I am thankful that I did not slip on the icy roads, and I am thankful that once again, I finished the race standing up and under my own power.

  6. Just Sayin' says:

    I am thankful to just be alive!! For good friends and family and of course the ginormus “food fest”! Happy Thanksgiving to All!!

  7. Mainer says:

    I doubt any one will see this as it is a day late but I have to agree with Bart. I don’t think most Americans do know how well they have it…….unfortunatly it seems that the better off they are the less they appreciate what we have and are losing.

    Hope all had a great day with their family and friends and all were safe. Another great day with my own family good traveling (snow didn’t hit until this morning) and another wonderful time to remember past holidays, friends and family.

    We have a very large group at our Thanksgiving, a very eclectic group. Explaining the connection between some of the elements would take way more time than it would be worth. Sufice to say it is a large group. 5 tables are required to sit the mob, ages this year went from 4 to 93 with one on the way momentarily. One of he tables is for the more senior members of the group. It seems as though I have been sitting at that one for some time now and yet of the 10 seated there only 2 are younger than I am. This year one of the wee ones came up just before the meal and asked me “Uncle, why do you always sit at this table?” I was about to tell her it was because I was old until it dawned on me that the lovely, just full of it lady to my right had 30+ years on me and I was one of the younger ones…..so my answer was instead “Because the rest of them let me.”
    Thanks gang for letting me in here too for that and so much else I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

