And the Most Conservative State Goes To…

No surprise: Mississippi. The most liberal identifying ‘state’ is the District of Columbia.

A Gallup Poll is out ranking the states and DC’s political identification. Once again, it turns out that Americans are more likely to identify themselves as conservative rather than moderates. The survey also indicates that political ideology tends to remain stable over time.

Visit the link above for an interactive map of the political ideology of your state.


About Mr. Universe

Mr. Universe is a musician/songwriter and an ex-patriot of the south. He currently lives and teaches at a University in the Pacific Northwest. He is a long distance hiker who has hiked the Appalachian Trail and the Pacific Crest Trail. He is also an author and woodworker. An outspoken political voice, he takes a decidedly liberal stance in politics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to And the Most Conservative State Goes To…

  1. Max aka Birdpilot says:

    Mr. U, could you please email me directly. Thx

  2. Mr. Universe says:

    Got the link to work now. Solar flares must be wreaking havoc with servers everywhere. Either that or Google Chrome isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

  3. rgbact says:

    Is there such a thing as a white liberal in Mississipi? Rare breed.

    Is this done on self-indentifiation? Seems liberals are less likely to admit they are liberals as conservatives. Then you ask them about the issues

  4. Mule Rider says:

    “Is there such a thing as a white liberal in Mississipi? Rare breed.”

    Since I live there now, I’m probably more qualified to answer this question than most.

    In short, no.

  5. Mule,
    I don’t want to divulge more about your personal information than necessary, but I feel compelled to ask this one question: Does the area in which you live associate more (from a cultural perspective) with the state or with the metropolitan area? What about you, personally?

  6. Monotreme says:

    I’ve lived for 21 years in two states on one list, and grew up in a state on the other. No wonder I’m so confused.

  7. Mule Rider says:

    “Does the area in which you live associate more (from a cultural perspective) with the state or with the metropolitan area? What about you, personally?”

    Good question, and I’m not sure I have good answers for either one. I feel like the area I live still associates more with the state (MS) than with Memphis….it’s a lot of old-timers who’ve lived there for many many years and the metro area just kinda grew out towards them. But they do and have always have had lives that were more a part of the rural and exurban culture than with the urban and suburban areas.

    For me personally, it’s about 50/50. It’s hard not to identify with Memphis when you work there and do a lot of other stuff there, but with a background appreciating a quieter, more private (and rural) setting, I have a taste of my growing up years in my tucked away area setting in north MS.

  8. Monotreme says:

    To answer the above questions, yes, there are plenty of white liberals in Mississippi.

    In fact, it was at a dinner party that I was asked a question that has haunted me since.

    The questioner (a white liberal Mississippian, who had worked on Rep. Bennie Thompson’s successful House campaign) asked me: “I know smart liberals and I know smart conservatives, but I don’t know any stupid liberals. Do you?”

    I offered Ted Kennedy (this was a while ago) but she asserted she didn’t mean stupid in the same way I did. She was referring more to book-larnin’.

    White liberal Missisippians are found in little knots and groups here and there in the state. I’ve known plenty in Jackson ( former Gov. Ray Mabus), but even places like Philadelphia, Mississippi ( former Secretary of State and gubernatorial candidate Dick Molpus) and Ackerman, Mississippi have a few.

    In small towns, they keep their heads down. It’s dangerous to reveal yourself as a liberal in some circles.

  9. Mule Rider says:

    “It’s dangerous to reveal yourself as a liberal in some circles.”

    I hope you were being just as facetious with that statement as I was in saying there were none in the state.

    Of course there are white liberals in MS, and no it’s not dangerous to openly self-identify one most anywhere you go in the state. I’d posit there are just as many “dangerous places” in the state for a white conservative to self-identify as such.

  10. Monotreme,
    I’ve met stupid liberals.

  11. Mule Rider says:

    “I’ve met stupid liberals.”

    I don’t know whether or not you even self-identify as liberal (you’re probably left of me but seem pretty far right compared to someone like Bartbuster), but this is a good time to interject that I definitely don’t count you among that group (of stupid people). Not to kiss ass here, but I think you’re probably the most articulate and intelligent person who regularly contributes to this blog.

  12. Max aka Birdpilot says:

    Of course there are stupid liberals.

    It matters not one’s political ideology, but when one puts that ideology ahead of reason, of rationale, of empirical evidence, that is stupid.

    It is different from having differing interpretations of the same set of circumstances and from taking differing paths to reach the same destination, or even disagreeing on what that destination should be.

    But the real stupidity occurs when, in the great American experiment with it’s multitude of ideals, philosophies and cultures, to be completely convinced that ONE ideology should ALWAYS prevail to the exclusion of others.

  13. Monotreme says:

    @MR:

    Thanks for clarifying my statement. I should be aware, after all these years, that dry humor really doesn’t work well on the Internet.

    No, I don’t mean literally dangerous, at least not anymore. Perhaps there was a time that it was.

    I managed to survive in Mississippi as a liberal, so I’m living proof that nothing bad happens to liberals there.

    I also agree with your assessment of MW. He’s a very, very smart and articulate guy.

    And I’ve met plenty of stupid liberals. I just thought it was an interesting point of view. I’d say that the questioner had met so few liberals in Mississippi, that she didn’t have as wide a range of experience as those of us on this blog have.

  14. Mule,

    Not to kiss ass here, but I think you’re probably the most articulate and intelligent person who regularly contributes to this blog.

    The check’s in the mail. 8)

  15. Mainer says:

    Dang Mule I thought I was the font of Progressive……..oh I get it. Never mind I will just toddle off to my stupid liberal meeting……I understand we are going to be bobbing for French Fries tonight so it should be fun.

    Guys I have been trying to find how well tort reform has worked in both Texas and Missouri. It appears to have saved doctors some money but the health care system has continued to cost more and more. Are there any facts out of those two states that would help with the argument?

Leave a Reply

